gnb content footer

home

News Focus

Society

Society

Deoksu Palace's Jungmyeongjeon Hall restored and open to the public

(Photo: Yonhap News)

Jungmyeongjeon has been remodeled and will be open to the public on August 29.  In addition to its venerable history as a library for Deoksu Palace, Junmyeongjeon has a sadder history as the site of the signing of the Eulsa Treaty, which turned Korea into a Japanese protectorate in 1905.

Commemorating the 100th anniversary of the Japan-Korea Annexation Treaty, the Cultural Heritage Administration said on Aug. 26 that the historical building has now been transformed into an educational exhibition site and will be open to visitors to the palace.

An exhibit on the history of Jungmyeongjeon will be take place on the first floor, while visitors can view a variety of related artifacts in the second floor gallery. The exhibition hall includes five rooms displaying historical documents, photos and video clips showing King Gojong’s struggles to save the country and his efforts to herald the nation’s situation worldwide.

Located in Jeong-dong, in central Seoul, this three-story western-style building is believed to have been designed by the Russian architect Seredin Sabatin.

It will be open to the public six times a day from Aug. 29, with a limit of 25 guests per tour. For more information or to make a reservation, please visit the website www.deoksugung.go.kr. Admission is free of charge.

By Cindy Ji-Eon Kim
Korea.net Staff Writer

http://www.korea.net/NewsFocus/Society/view?articleId=82577

URL Copy

List

Department Global Communication and Contents Division , Contact Us