gnb content footer

home

韩国基本情况

历史

朝鲜王朝

朝鲜王朝

朝鲜王朝

到13世纪末,高丽发现自己由于内部和外部问题而处境艰难,包 括贵族之间争权夺利和红头巾土匪及和光海盗的入侵。
当时,李成桂将军因赶走外国侵略者受到人民拥戴。他推翻高 丽,建立了新的朝代,即朝鲜。作为朝鲜的第一任太祖,他根据 风水原则判断汉阳是一个吉利的地方,因此将新朝代的都城定在 汉阳(今首尔)。他还下令建设景福宫和宗庙,同时还修建道路和 市场。新的都城位于朝鲜半岛中心,汉江穿过其中心,易于到达。

history_15c_z.gif

朝鲜(15世纪)


太祖的儿子太宗在稳定管理制度方面做出巨大贡献。他采用 一种制度,根据号牌法登记所有公民并推出六部委管理国家,分 别是:人事管理、财务、协议、防御、司法和公共事务管理部 门。太祖的儿子世宗大王引导了政治、社会和文化繁荣发展的伟 大时代。集贤殿的学者制定了强大有效的政策。在世宗、睿宗和 成宗统治时期,为建立长期统治制度,制定了《经国大典》(国 家规范)。

Cheonsang Yeolcha Bunya Jido Joseon

天象列次分野之图 ( 朝鲜,17世纪)
这一来自朝鲜王朝的(左侧) 天文图表展示了星座。 ( 来源:韩国国立古宫博物院)


韩文的创造

几个世纪以来,韩国人一直将汉字作为他们的字母和书写系统。 虽然已经制定了使用汉字的口语书写系统 — 吏读和乡札,但是它 们还有很多地方需要改进。1443年,世宗大王指导创建韩文(韩 语字母)并在三年后(1446年)向世人发布。韩语字母的形状以 人们在发音时候的发音器形状为基础。很多学者表示,韩文是世 界上最科学且最易学习的书写系统。当然,它历经很长时间以加 强政府与人民之间沟通,但是对于奠定高度文明国家的基础起到 决定性作用。

科学和技术的发展

在朝鲜时期,科学和技术发展迅猛。自击漏 、仰釜日晷和浑天仪 都发明于朝鲜初期。使用世界上最早的雨量计对降雨量进行测定。 在土地测量和制图上还使用了印地仪和窥衡。在太祖统治时期,在 高句丽时期绘制的先前版本基础上制作了天象列次分野之图(天体 图)。在世宗大王统治时期,根据中国的授时历和阿拉伯的伊斯兰 教历制定了七政算(由七个天体运动决定的计算结果)。在医药科 学领域取得明显进步。编著《本国经验方》(朝鲜本土处方汇集) 和《乡药集成方》(医学处方的分类收集)。在太祖和世宗时期制作 金属活字癸未字和甲寅字,使得出版多册图书成为可能。

Слева: Анбуильгу (Чосон, XVII-XVIII вв.) Солнечные часы с возможностью определения изменений времени и сезона (слева) (Национальный Музей Кореи) Справа: Дождемер (Чосон, XVIII в.) Этот дождемер был установлен в Сонхвадане (г. Тэгу)

1. 仰釜日晷(朝鲜; 17~18世纪)- 能够标记时间和季节变化的 日晷(左)(来源:韩国国 立古宫博物院)
2. 雨量计(朝 鲜,18世纪)- 此雨量计曾经 安装在大邱的宣化堂(右)


朝鲜的外交关系

朝鲜与中国明朝维持友好关系。两国每年都互派皇家特使,并频 繁进行文化和经济交流。朝鲜还接受日本请求,开放釜山、镇海 和蔚山口岸进行双边贸易。1443年,朝鲜与日本对马岛氏族领袖 签订双边贸易协议。朝鲜还同琉球群岛、暹罗和爪哇岛等亚洲国 家进行贸易活动。

手工技能的发展

陶瓷器可能是朝鲜时期最具代表性的手工艺品。浅灰蓝色搽粉 的青瓷或白瓷广泛用在宫廷和政府机关中。大约16世纪左 右,朝鲜的陶瓷器制作工艺达到顶峰。根据高丽时期建 立的传统,白瓷以匀称、简单的形状为特色。也符 合儒家学者的贵族口味。

Pot de porcelaine blanche avec dessins de pruniers, bambous, oiseaux

白磁梅画梅鸟 竹文瓶(朝鲜,15世纪)- 此花瓶制作于朝鲜王朝初 期,对竹子、李子和小鸟的 精致描绘展现了独特的朝鲜 气息。 ( 来源:韩国古宫博物院)


朝鲜之役

在整个14和15世纪,朝鲜与日本保持了良好的关 系。但是到16世纪,日本要求扩大双边贸易份额,被朝 鲜拒绝。日本在1510年和1555年寻衅滋事使朝鲜陷入动 荡之中。日本的丰臣秀吉在长达120年的战国混乱后统一 了日本。1592年,他出动20万大军入侵朝鲜以解散当地的主要力 量,稳固他在日本的统治。战争一直持续到1598年。
感觉到日本军队的威胁后,朝鲜的王宣祖逃到距离中国明朝较近的 义州,并向明朝寻求帮助。日本侵略者进军到朝鲜北部省份。朝鲜 民兵开始与侵略者抗争。其中最值得注意的是由海军上将李舜臣领 导的朝鲜海军在与侵略者对抗后赢得胜利,并保卫了全罗道的国家 粮仓。日本军队退出朝鲜,但是在1597年再度入侵朝鲜。虽然海军 上将李舜臣仅剩下十三艘战舰,他仍然击败了拥有133艘战舰的日 本舰队,取得了压倒性的胜利。海战在鸣梁海峡进行,是空前伟大 的军事活动之一,毫无疑问,这值得纳入世界海战历史记录。
丰臣吉秀去世后,日本侵略者返回国内。在七年的战争期间, 包括佛国寺在内的很多朝鲜文化遗产遭到破坏。日本人从朝鲜抢 走了书籍、印刷类型和艺术作品。
有了这些战利品,日本人能够增强他们自己国家的学术和艺 术。同时日本从朝鲜诱拐的瓷器工匠也有助于日本发展他们自己 的陶瓷文化。

草根文化的发展

在朝鲜后期,工商业进入快速发展时期。很多儿童可在他们当地 的私立学校接受教育。随着人民生活质量的提高,他们开始享受 多种娱乐活动。由于抵制用中文出版的文学作品,用容易理解的 韩文写成的故事得以广泛传播。发展了板索里(伴随音乐讲故事 的风格)和面具舞。19世纪后期,申在孝编排了清唱板索里。春 香歌、沈清歌、兴甫歌 、赤壁歌和水宫歌等五首板索里一直流传 至今。假面舞和山台游戏 深受普通百姓的喜爱。

Sandaenori

山台游戏 - 这是一种传统的舞台剧, 演员戴面具表演笑话、 舞蹈、歌曲等。

所属部门 Global Communication and Contents Division,  联系我们

gnb content footer

home

About Korea

History

Joseon

Joseon

Joseon

Towards the end of the 13th century, Goryeo found itself in a difficult situation due to internal and external problems, including a struggle for power among the nobility and incursions by red- turbaned bandits and Wako pirates. At that time, General Yi Seong-gye had become popular among the people for his role in driving away foreign invaders. He overthrew the Goryeo Dynasty and founded a new dynasty, Joseon. As the first King Taejo of Joseon, he chose Hanyang (present-day Seoul) – judged to be a propitious spot according to the principles of feng shui – as the capital of the new dynasty. He also ordered the construction of Gyeongbokgung Palace and Jongmyo Shrine, as well as roads and markets. The new capital, located in the center of the Korean Peninsula, was easily accessible via the Hangang River, which flowed directly through its heart.

Joseon (15th Century)

Joseon (15th Century)



King Taejong, the third King and a son of the founder of the dynasty, made a significant contribution to stabilizing the system of governance. He adopted a system by which all people were registered under the Hopae Act, and launched six ministries, namely, the Ministries of Personnel Administration, Finance, Protocol, Defense, Justice, and Public Works, to govern the country. King Sejong, the fourth King and a son of King Taejong, ushered in an era of great political, social, and cultural prosperity. Scholars at the Jiphyeonjeon (Hall of Worthies) developed strong and effective policies. During the reigns of Sejo, Yejong, and Seongjong, the Gyeongguk daejeon (National Code) was drawn up with the aim of establishing a long-lasting ruling system.

Cheonsang yeolcha bunya jido (Joseon, 17th Century). This astronomical chart from Joseon shows the constellations.

Cheonsang yeolcha bunya jido (Joseon, 17th Century). This astronomical chart from Joseon shows the constellations.




The Creation of Hangeul

Koreans had used Chinese characters as their alphabet and writing system for many centuries. Idu and Hyangchal, systems for writing the spoken word, using Chinese characters, had been developed, but they left much to be desired. In 1443, King Sejong supervised the creation of Hangeul (the Korean alphabet) and promulgated it to the people three years later, in 1446. The shapes of the Korean alphabet were based on the shapes made by the human vocal apparatus during pronunciation. Many scholars have stated that Hangeul is the most scientific and easy-to-learn writing system in the world. It certainly went a long way towards enhancing communication between the people and the government, and played a decisive role in laying the foundations of a culturally advanced country.


Development of Science and Technology

During the Joseon period, the country’s science and technology developed considerably. The Jagyeongnu (clepsydra), Angbuilgu (sun dial), and Honcheonui (armillary sphere) were all invented in the early period of the dynasty. A rain gauge, the first of its particular kind in the world, was used. Devices for land survey and mapmaking were also made. During the reign of King Taejo, the Cheonsang yeolcha bunya jido (Celestial Chart) was made based on a previous version drawn up during the Goguryeo Period. During the reign of King Sejong, Chiljeongsan (Calculation of the Motions of the Seven Celestial Determinants) was made based on the Shoushili calendar of China and the Islamic calendar of Arabia. Noticeable advances were made in the sphere of medical science. Hyangyak jipseongbang (Compilation of Native Korea Prescriptions) and Uibang yuchi (Classified Collection of Medical Prescriptions) were compiled. Metal printing types, such as Gyemija and Gabinja, were made during the reigns of Taejong and Sejong, making it possible to publish many books.

Angbuilgu (Joseon; 17th~18th Centuries). A sundial capable of marking changes in both time and season (Left). Rain Gauge (Joseon, 18th Century). This rain gauge used to be installed in Seonhwadang, Daegu.

Angbuilgu (Joseon; 17th~18th Centuries). A sundial capable of marking changes in both time and season (Left). Rain Gauge (Joseon, 18th Century). This rain gauge used to be installed in Seonhwadang, Daegu.



Joseon’s Foreign Relations

Joseon maintained friendly relations with Ming China. The two countries exchanged royal envoys every year and engaged in busy cultural and economic exchanges. Joseon also accepted Japan’s request for bilateral trade by opening the ports of Busan, Jinhae, and Ulsan. In 1443, Joseon signed an agreement with the Tsushima Clan Leader of Japan for bilateral trade. Joseon also traded with Asian countries, such as Ryukyu, Siam, and Java.


Development of Handcraft Skills

Chinaware is perhaps the most representative handcraft of the Joseon Period. Grayish-blue-powdered celadon or white porcelain was widely used at the Royal Court or government offices. By about the 16th century, Joseon’s chinaware production skills had reached their zenith. Its white porcelain typically exhibited clean, plain shapes based on the tradition established during the Goryeo Period. They were suited to the aristocratic taste of the Confucian scholars.

White Porcelain Jar with Plum, Bamboo, Bird Design (Joseon; 15th Century). This vase made in the early Joseon Period displays a uniquely Korean atmosphere in its refined portrayal of bamboo, plum, and birds.

White Porcelain Jar with Plum, Bamboo, Bird Design (Joseon; 15th Century). This vase made in the early Joseon Period displays a uniquely Korean atmosphere in its refined portrayal of bamboo, plum, and birds.




Imjin Waeran (Japanese Invasion of 1592)

Throughout the 14th and 15th centuries, Joseon maintained good relations with Japan. In the 16th century, however, Japan called for a larger share of the bilateral trade, but Joseon refused to comply with the request. Japanese threw the country into turmoil by causing disturbances in 1510 and 1555. In Japan, Toyotomi Hideyoshi brought the confusion of the 120-year-long Warring States Period to a conclusion and unified the country. Then, in 1592, he invaded Joseon with around 200,000 troops, with the aim of dissipating local lords’ strength and stabilizing his rule in Japan. The war lasted until 1598.

Feeling threatened by the invading Japanese troops, King Seonjo of Joseon fled to Uiju, close to Ming China, and asked the Ming to come to his aid. The Japanese invaders marched into the northern provinces of Joseon. Korean militias started fighting the invaders here and there across the country. It is particularly noteworthy that Korean naval forces led by Admiral Yi Sun-sin won one victory after another against the invaders and defended the nation’s breadbasket in Jeolla-do Province. The Japanese forces pulled out of Korea, but invaded Joseon again in 1597. Although Admiral Yi Sun-sin was left with only thirteen warships, he won a devastating victory against the Japanese fleet of 133 ships. The sea battle waged in the Strait of Myeongnyang was one of the greatest military engagements of all time, and is surely worthy of inclusion in any record of the world history of naval battles.

Following the death of Toyotomi Hideyoshi, the Japanese invaders returned home. During the seven-year war, many cultural heritages in Joseon, including Bulguksa Temple, were destroyed. The Japanese took away books, printing types, and works of art from Joseon. With these spoils of war, the Japanese were able to enhance scholarship and the arts in their own country, while porcelain makers whom the Japanese troops abducted from Joseon helped Japan develop its own china culture.


Development of Grassroots Culture

In the late Joseon Period, commerce and industry entered a period of rapid development. Many children could receive education at private schools in their local neighborhood. With these improvements in the quality of life of the people, they began to enjoy diverse entertainments. Stories written in easily understood Hangeul, as opposed to literary works published in Chinese, were widely distributed. Pansori (a genre of musical storytelling) and mask dance developed. In the late 19th century, Sin Jae-hyo arranged pansori saseol (stories). Five leading pansori songs, namely, Chunhyangga (The Song of Chunhyang), Simcheongga (The Song of Sim Cheong), Heungboga (The Song of Heungbo), Jeokbyeokga (The Song of Red Cliff), and Sugungga (The Song of the Rabbit and the Turtle) have been handed down to the present day. Mask plays such as Tallori and Sandaenori enjoyed great popularity among ordinary people.

Sandaenori. This is a type of traditional stage play, in which masked actors and actresses engage in gags, dances, songs, etc.

Sandaenori. This is a type of traditional stage play, in which masked actors and actresses engage in gags, dances, songs, etc.



Featured Topics

http://www.korea.net/AboutKorea/History/Joseon

URL Copy

Department Global Communication and Contents Division,  Contact Us