gnb content footer

home

О Корее

История

Демократическая страна, локомотив экономического роста

Демократическая страна, локомотив экономического роста

Демократическая страна, локомотив экономического роста

10 мая 1948 года в Южной Корее были проведены первые демократические выборы под руководством ООН, с избранием 198 членов Национальной Ассамблеи. 17 июля того же года была принята Конституция и избраны первый Президент Республики Кореи Ли Сын Ман и вице-президент Ли Сиён, оба – борцы за независимость, глубоко уважаемые народом. 15 августа 1948 года Республика Корея (РК) стала свободной демократической страной, унаследовав легитимность ВПК. ООН признала правительство Республики Корея единственным законным правительством на Корейском полуострове.
Тем не менее, к северу от 38-ой параллели, общие выборы под руководством ООН не могли быть проведены из-за оппозиции Советского Союза. 9 сентября 1945 года было образовано прокоммунистическое государство Корейская Народно-Демократическая Республика (КНДР), а Ким Ир Сен, служивший командиром Советской Красной Армии, вступил в должность Главы государства. В условиях противостояния свободной демократии на юге и коммунистической диктатуры на севере, правительство РК, во главе с Президентом Ли Сын Маном, было обременено множеством проблем, таких как установление правопорядка, устранение последствий колониального режима, а также, среди прочего, разрешение конфликтов между правыми и левыми.

Магистраль Кёнпусон Первая национальная магистраль Кореи, соединившая Сеул и Пусан, была открыта в 1970 году.

Магистраль Кёнпусон Первая национальная магистраль Кореи, соединившая Сеул и Пусан, была открыта в 1970 году.



25 июня 1950 года войска Северной Кореи, приподдержке советских танков и военных, вторглись на Юг, развернув, таким образом, полномасштабную войну. Совет безопасности ООН единогласно осудил вторжение Северной Кореи и опубликовал резолюцию, рекомендуя членам организации оказывать военную поддержку Южной Корее.Когда удача отвернулась от Севера во время вторжения сил ООН, войска коммунистического Китая вмешались в войну на стороне Севера. Обе стороны ввязались в жесточайшее противостояние до тех пор, пока 27 июля 1953 года, стороны, наконец, подписали соглашение о перемирии. Президент Ли Сын Ман не подписал соглашение, настаивая на продолжении войны с целью объединения всей страны в пользу Юга.
Продолжавшаяся три года междоусобная война, развязанная коммунистами, превратила весь Корейский полуостров в руины. Миллионы солдат и мирных жителей были убиты. Большинство промышленных объектов были уничтожены. Южная Корея стала беднейшей страной мира. Но война научила жителей Южной Кореи ценить свободу. Полученный опыт вдохнул патриотизм в сердца юных студентов и солдат и стал основным двигателем модернизации страны.
Президент Ли Сын Ман усиливал свой авторитарный режим. В 1960 году правящая Либеральная партия фальсифицировала результаты президентских выборов. Студенты вышли на улицы в знак протеста. Ситуация ухудшилась, когда большое количество демонстрантов были застрелены полицией. Президент Ли Сын Ман объявил о своей отставке и нашел убежище на Гавайях. Вскоре после этого, в Конституцию были внесены поправки, принята система подотчетного парламенту правительства,и двухпалатная Национальная Ассамблея. Согласно новой Конституции установился режим во главе с Премьер- министром Чан Мёном, но политическая ситуация стала очень хрупкой в условиях политических войн и продолжающихся демонстраций студентов.
16 мая 1961 года группа молодых военных офицеров, во главе с генералом Пак Чон Хи устроила государственный переворот и захватила власть. Во время президентских выборов в октябре 1963 года, после двух лет военного режима, Пак Чон Хи уволился из армии и был избран Президентом, его инаугурация состоялась в декабре того же года.Правительство, возглавляемое Президентом Паком, разработало 5-летний план экономического развития под девизом «модернизация Родины», а также достигло экономического роста с помощью внедрения экспортно- ориентированной политики.
Наблюдатели назвали произошедшее «Чудом на реке Ханган». Страна совершила стремительный рывок вперед в своем развитии, была построена железнодорожная магистраль Кёнбусон и линии метрополитена в крупных городах. В стране набирало силу движение Семаыль Ундон (Новая деревня), благодаря которому доведенная до нищеты сельскохозяйственная страна превратилась в индустриальную державу.
Когда правительство объявило Реформу обновления Юсин, целью которой было увеличение сроков правления действующего правительства после восемнадцати лет диктатуры, в октябре 1972 года студенты и простой народ объединились в демократическое движение. После убийства Президента Пак Чон Хи 26 октября 1979 года, новая военная группировка (Синьгунбу), возглавляемая генералом Чон Ду Хваном, захватила власть в результате переворота. Синьгунбу силой подавили выступающих за демократизацию, включая Демократическое движение 18 мая. Чон Ду Хван вступил в должность Президента и установил авторитарную власть. Правительство Чон Ду Хвана сосредоточилось на стабилизации экономики, успешно взяв инфляцию под контроль. Возглавляемая им страна продолжила экономический рост.
29 июня 1987 года Ро Дэ У, кандидат в президенты от правящей партии, сделал специальное заявление о том, что он выполнит народное требование о демократизациии прямых выборах президента. В декабре того же года, он был избран Президентом на пятилетний срок. Он занял пост Президента в феврале 1988 года. Администрация Ро Дэ У установила дипломатические отношения с КНР и странами Восточной Европы. Во время его президентского срока, обе Кореи одновременно вступили в ООН, 17 сентября 1991 года.
Правительство Ким Ён Сама, инаугурация которого состоялась в 1993 году, с тремилось ус транить коррупцию, введя закон о регистрации всех активов высокопоставленных чиновников и запрете использования фальшивых имен во всех финансовых транзакциях. Благодаря данной процедуре значительно возрос уровень прозрачности деловых операций. Правительство также внедрило систему местной автономии на полную мощность.Ким Тэ Чжун занял пост Президента в 1998 году. Его правительству удалось преодолеть валютный кризис, охвативший страну годом раннее, а также успешно развивать как демократию, так и рыночную экономику. В своих отношениях с Севером, правительство придерживалось «Политики солнечного тепла». 15 июня 2000 года лидеры двух Корей встретились на саммите в Пхеньяне, Северная Корея, где выступили с совместным заявлением. Затем две Кореи установили систему примирения и сотрудничества, и достигли соглашения о воссоединении разделенных семей, реконструкции железнодорожных путей Кёнъисон и Тонхэ, восстановлении движения объединения, начиная с частного сектора, а также расширение экономического сотрудничества, включая экскурсии в северокорейские горы Кымгансан.
Правительство Но Му Хёна, вступившего на пост в 2003 году, сосредоточилось на трех основных целях, а именно: реализация демократии при участии и на благо народа, сбалансированное социальное развитие, а также строительство в северо-восточной Азии с упором на поддержание мира и процветания. Правительство такжепровело второй саммит лидеров двух Корей в Пхеньяне 4 октября 2007 года и подписало Соглашение о свободной торговле с США.
Администрация Ли Мён Бака, начавшая свою работу в феврале 2008 года, огласила пять основных индикаторов своей программы создания новой системы развития с акцентом на изменениях и прагматизме. Правительство подчеркнуло, что будет служить народу. Оно также сделало попытки сократить число правительственных организаций, приватизировать государственные корпорации и реформировать административные нормы. Другие стратегии, предпринятые правительством, включали создание союза с Соединенными Штатами, как дань 21-ому веку, и объединение Кореи под началом Экономического сообщества Юга и Севера.

18-й президент, Пак Кын Хе вступила на пост в феврале 2013 года, первая женщина – президент Республики Корея.

18-й президент, Пак Кын Хе вступила на пост в феврале 2013 года, первая женщина – президент Республики Корея.



Пак Кын Хе стала первой женщиной, избранной на должность Президента в ходе выборов 19 декабря 2012 года. Она вступила на пост 25 февраля 2013 года. Ее правительство представило новую концепцию: развитие нации и счастье народа. С 1948 года по 2013 год, за прошедшие шестьдесят пять лет, страна превратилась из беднейшей в мире в экономический локомотив и пример свободной демократии. Этот пример можно считать уникальным в мировой истории.

Ключевые темы

http://russian.korea.net/AboutKorea/History/Transition-Democracy-Transformation-Economic-Powerhouse

URL Цитировать

Специальный отдел Отдел Коммуникаций и Контента,  Обратная связь

gnb content footer

home

About Korea

History

Transition to a Democracy and Transformation into an Economic Powerhouse

Transition to a Democracy and Transformation into an Economic Powerhouse

Transition to a Democracy and Transformation into an Economic Powerhouse

In May 1948, the country’s first democratic election was held in South Korea under the UN’s supervision to elect the 198 members of the National Assembly. In July of the same year, the Constitution was enacted and Rhee Syngman and Yi Si-yeong, two independence fighters deeply respected by Koreans, were elected as the country’s first President and Vice President. On August 15, 1948, the Republic of Korea (ROK) was launched as a free democracy, inheriting the legitimacy of the PGK. The UN recognized the government of the ROK as the only legitimate government on the Korean Peninsula.

However, to the north of the 38th parallel, a general election under UN supervision could not be carried out due to the Soviet Union’s opposition. On September 9, 1945, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK) was established as a communist country, and Kim Il-sung, who had served as an officer of the Soviet Russian Army, was sworn in as the President. Amid the confrontation between a free democracy in the south and a communist dictatorship in the north, the ROK government led by President Rhee Syngman was burdened with many problems, such as the establishment of domestic order, the elimination of any remaining traces of the colonial rule, and conflicts between the right and the left among others.

Gyeongbu Expressway. Korea's first national expressway connecting Seoul and Busan was opened in 1970.

Gyeongbu Expressway. Korea's first national expressway connecting Seoul and Busan was opened in 1970.



On June 25, 1950, North Korean troops armed with Soviet-made tanks and fighters invaded the South, thus triggering an all-out war. The UN Security Council unanimously condemned the North Korean invasion and published a resolution recommending that its member states provide military assistance to South Korea. When the tide of the war turned against the North with the intervention of the UN Forces, Red Chinese troops intervened in the war on the North’s side. The two sides engaged in fierce battles until, on July 27, 1953, the two sides finally signed the armistice agreement. President Rhee Syngman did not sign the agreement, calling strongly for the prolongation of the war with the goal of unifying the entire country in the South’s favor.

The three-year-long internecine war started by the Communists reduced the entire Korean Peninsula to rubble. Millions of troops and civilians were killed. Most of the country’s industrial facilities were destroyed. South Korea became the poorest country in the world. However, the war taught South Koreans the preciousness of freedom. The experience provided the foundation that inspired patriotism in the hearts of young students and uniformed soldiers alike, and became the principal engine of the country’s modernization.

President Rhee Syngman strengthened his authoritarian rule. In 1960, the ruling Liberal Party rigged the Presidential election. Young students took to the streets in protest. The situation deteriorated when many demonstrators were shot down by the police. President Rhee Syngman announced his step-down and took refuge in Hawaii. Shortly thereafter, the Constitution was amended, and the Cabinet system and the bicameral National Assembly were adopted. Under the new constitution, the regime led by Prime Minister Jang Myeon was launched, but the political situation became extremely fragile amid political struggles and continued street demonstrations by students.

In May 1961, a group of young army officers led by General Park Chung-hee seized power in a coup d’état. In the presidential election held in October 1963, after two years of military rule, Park Chung-hee, having retired from the military, was elected as President and inaugurated in December that same year. The government led by President Park set up a 5-year economic development plan under the slogan of “modernization of the fatherland” and achieved rapid economic growth by implementing an export-oriented policy.

Observers called it “the Miracle on the Hangang River.” The country vigorously pushed ahead with the development of national land, including the construction of the Gyeongbu Expressway and subway lines in large cities. The country also carried out the Saemaeul Undong (New Community Movement), turning the impoverished agricultural society into a country focused mainly on manufacturing.

When the government announced the Yusin (Revitalization Reform), which were designed to extend the term of the incumbent government after eighteen years of dictatorship, in October 1972, students and ordinary people engaged in the democratization movement. After the assassination of President Park in October 1979, a new group of army officers led by General Chun Doo-hwan (Singunbu) seized power through a coup d’état. Singunbu suppressed the voices calling for democratization, including the May 18 Democratization Movement, by force. Chun Doo-hwan was sworn in as the President and ruled with an authoritarian grip. The Chun Doo-hwan government concentrated on economic stabilization, successfully bringing inflated prices under control. Under his leadership, the country accomplished continued economic growth.

In June 1987, Roh Tae-woo, a presidential hopeful of the ruling party, made a special announcement to the effect that he would accept the people’s request for democratization and direct election of the President. In December of the same year, he was elected to a five-year term as President. He was sworn in as President in February 1988. The Roh Tae-woo administration established diplomatic relations with Communist countries, including the Soviet Union, China, and those in Eastern Europe. During his term, the two Koreas joined the UN simultaneously, in September 1991.

The Kim Young-sam government, which was inaugurated in 1993, strove to eliminate corruption by making it a rule for high-ranking public officials to register all their assets and by prohibiting the use of false names in all financial transactions. The level of transparency in business transactions was considerably enhanced by this measure. The government also implemented the local autonomy system in full force. Kim Dae-jung was inaugurated as President in 1998. His government succeeded in overcoming the foreign exchange crisis that had hit the country one year earlier, and strove to develop both democracy and the market economy. In its relations with the North, the government adopted the “sunshine policy.” In June 2000, the leaders of the two Koreas met at a summit held in Pyeongyang, North Korea, and made a joint statement. Then, the two Koreas established a system of reconciliation and cooperation, and agreed on the reunion of dispersed family members, reconnection of the Gyeongui and Donghae railroad lines, revitalization of the unification movement led by the private sector, and the expansion of economic cooperation, including sightseeing in Geumgangsan Mountain.

The Roh Moo-hyun government, which was inaugurated in 2003, concentrated on three leading objectives, namely, the realization of democracy with the participation of the people, balanced social development, and the construction of Northeast Asia with the focus on peace and prosperity. The government also held the second summit between the leaders of the two Koreas in Pyeongyang in October 2007 and signed an FTA with the United States.

The Lee Myung-bak administration, which was inaugurated in February 2008, announced five leading indicators in a bid for the establishment of a new development system with the focus on changes and practicality. The government stressed that it would be a government that would serve the people. It also made efforts to reduce the government organization, privatize public corporations (in addition to making them operate more efficiently), and reform administrative regulations. Other policies adopted by the government included the forging of a creative alliance with the United States as befits the 21st century, and the creation of a global Korea under the South-North Economic Community.

The 18th President, Park Geun-hye. She was inaugurated in February 2013 as the country’s first female President

The 18th President, Park Geun-hye. She was inaugurated in February 2013 as the country’s first female President



Ms. Park Geun-hye became the country’s first woman to be elected President in the election held in December 2012. She was inaugurated in February 2013. Her government presented a new vision: Nation’s Development and People’s Happiness. Over the past sixty-five years (1948-2013), the country has transformed itself from one of the most impoverished countries in the world to an economic powerhouse and an exemplar of free democracy. This process may be viewed as a unique example in world history.

Featured Topics

http://www.korea.net/AboutKorea/History/Transition-Democracy-Transformation-Economic-Powerhouse

URL Copy

Department Global Communication and Contents Division,  Contact Us